Musings from the Artist

The last month has been a whirlwind of events.  Although I brought it all on myself, and I have enjoyed each art event and seeing old friends and new, there is simple pleasures in creating art.  So while I work on a new drawing, I thought I would write down and share some of the things that inspire me.  Feel free to comment as you like.

  • I am inspired by hard working cowboys, horses running at full gallop, young colts sleeping in tall grass and hawks soaring in an endless blue sky.
  • I admire the artwork of Frank McCarthy because of his ability to capture the entire image with complete detail and direct the viewer throughout the entire drawing.
  • The subjects I choose are western-themed because they invoke an honesty that I want to be surrounded by.
  • I want my artwork to capture the viewer’s attention, imagination and emotion.
  • I hope that my artwork touches someone personally.  I want to put goosebumps on the back of the viewers’ arm and take them back to a favorite stored memory.
  • If you the viewer looks at my artwork and feels the emotion that I have captured is part of your own emotion, then I feel completely satisfied.

These are just some of the things that I feel as an artist.  People often ask me how long it takes to draw a picture. It’s really tough to nail down the time.  I actually quit timing myself, because it really was never accurate.  Here’s how it works:       

 Sometimes I will envision a drawing for several weeks before I feel ready to begin. I don’t overthink my work, sketching it out before I begin the “real drawing” as some artists might. I’ve already done that in my head. When I start, I’m halfway done. Now the challenge is getting it out of my head and on to paper.  If it takes shape exactly as I hav envisioned it, then it spills out on the paper quite rapidly.  Sometimes it doesn’t take shape as I had hoped, and it starts to drag on and on. When that happens, I set it aside and revisit it later, when it is ready to come out on to the paper.

And that happens to be the method to my madness.  🙂

About Geri Dunn

Western Graphite Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

