In the Wild…Ram Calling

Ram Calling

Ram Calling

It’s been a while now, but last spring my husband and I went to Borrego Springs.  He went for a dual sport motorcycle ride, touring in the back country on motorcycle.  I on the other hand, went horse back riding, and later went for a hike into a canyon filled with palm trees. I know there must be a name for the trail, but the name eludes me…

The trail is lined with steep rock cliffs on one side, and the riverbank on the other side. All of the hikers came to a clearing with several bighorn sheep grazing.  These are magnificent animals to view so close to us (perhaps 50 feet away!).  I was so inspired to draw these great animals that I decided to draw a set of 3 different drawings depicting the Bighorn Sheep.  Along the way, I did some research, and found out that Juan Bautista de Anza actually ran into these sheep in the late 1700’s.  He named them the Borrego sheep, and the name has stuck.  My first attempt to depict these creatures is called Ram Calling.  I will be posting my second attempt tomorrow, April 28, 2009, which I call “Sunbathing”. Come back to check it out…

About Geri Dunn

Western Graphite Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

